TobaccoFreeUtah.org

Basic Retailer Information

Preventing early addiction to tobacco in underage users can have a dramatic effect on tobacco use rates. 90% of adults who use tobacco started before age 19, the legal age of use in Utah.

Your participation in the overall strategy to reduce use of tobacco by Utah's underage youth is crucial. By developing an active policy prohibiting sales to underage buyers, you will play a major role in preventing the illegal use of tobacco. Establishing a reputation of refusing sales of tobacco to those under age 19, drastically reduces illegal purchase attempts.

This guide contains useful tips for managers and employees to use in order to prevent illegal underage sales of tobacco. You can also access a listing of underage-related tobacco laws and local health department contacts for more information.

Tips for Managers and Employees

As a manager or employee, you have a responsibility to prevent underage youth from illegally purchasing or stealing tobacco from your retail outlet(s). Here are a few suggestions for eliminating underage sales and theft of tobacco:

Acceptable Forms of I.D.

Signs indicating that I.D. will be checked act as a deterrent to underage tobacco buys. However, signs don't replace the careful checking of an I.D. and verification of age. The revised Utah Driver's License and Identification cards indicate the day, month, and year that the person presenting the I.D. will turn age 19. This makes the math out of computing the legal age. Many retail outlets have established policies of asking for I.D. from anyone who appears younger than the age of 27, in order to prevent illegal underage sales of tobacco. The following are acceptable forms of I.D. customers may use to purchase tobacco:

 

way to quit


Downloads

Penalties

Selling to Youth:

  • 1st Offense: Not more than $300
  • 2nd Offense: Not more than $750
  • 3rd Offense: Not more than $1,000 and up to 30 day suspension of tobacco license
  • 4th Offense: Not more than $1,000 and 1 year revocation of tobacco license

Providing to Youth:

  • Class A Misd.: up to a year term/up to $2,500 fine
  • Class B Misd.: up to 6 months term/up to $1,000 fine
  • Class C Misd.: up to 90 day term/up to $750 fine
  • Unclassified: up to $750 fine

Identification

State issued IDstate issued ID State issued Limited-Term IDstate issued limited-term ID